9 steps to creating an online memorial

By Memories12 February 2021

There are 9 steps to creating an online memorial:

1. Prepare all of the memories you want to upload.

2. Sign up for a free account on Memories.

3. Create a Memorial Timeline. 

4. Add profile and cover photos.

5. Change the Timeline's privacy settings.

6. Add photos, videos and life stories.

7. Invite others to contribute to the Timeline.

8. Add a virtual tribute to the page.

9. Change user permissions for the Timeline.

STEP 1: Prepare all of the memories you want to upload

Grieving the loss of a loved one can be extremely difficult. Yet there's something about building their online memorial which feels therapeutic and can help ease the pain.

Before you start your online memorial, we encourage you to collect all the photos, videos and memories you plan to use in one place. Which memories represent your loved one the best, or provoke feelings of nostalgia? These questions will help you identify what to add to the Timeline.

If there are many photos that are only in physical form, you can easily digitize them using the in-built photo scanner on the Memories mobile app. Of course, you can also take a photo of the memory and add that to the Timeline.

STEP 2: Sign up for a free account on Memories

Memories helps you capture life stories all in one place, which you can access via our mobile app or website. To get started, sign up for a free account.

If you are on the Sign Up page, enter your details and click Sign Up

If you are on the Log In page, tap the Sign Up tab, then enter your details and tap Sign Up.

  1. Enter your first and last names.

  2. Then create a username. This can be your email address.

  3. Create your password.

  4. Click the Sign Up  button. You can also sign up using your Facebook, Google or Apple account.

*Make sure you enter your email address correctly, as you'll need it to verify your account and reset your password if you forget it.

STEP 3: Create a memorial Timeline

Once you sign up, we create a Timeline for you. To create an online memorial for someone else, you'll need a separate Timeline. Here's how to make one.

On your Timelines screen, tap Start a Timeline.

You'll see the Create a Timeline page. Fill out each section to start building the online memorial.

  1. Select Someone else since you're making an online memorial.

  2. Fill in the first and last name of your loved one.

  3. In the box titled Add an introduction you'll see some standard text. This will display on the Timeline unless you change it. We recommend that you write your own brief introduction of the loved one who has passed away.

  4. In Add Timeline photos, you can add a Timeline cover photo (the rectangle) and Profile photo (the circle). We'll talk about these more in the next step.

  5. Select your relationship to your loved one.

  6. If you like, choose a hometown or location where your loved one spent most of their life.

  7. Move the Timeline is public switch to make the Timeline public or private.

  8. In the Advanced Privacy settings, you can place further restrictions on people you invite to contribute to the Timeline. We'll talk about these settings more in a moment.

STEP 4: Add Profile and cover photos

Add a photo of your loved one as the Profile image for the Timeline.

  1. Tap Edit at the top of the Timeline screen.

  2. Select the source of the image or drag and drop the photo onto the page. Memories also integrates with Facebook and Instagram so you can easily bring photos from your social channels into a Memories Timeline.

  3. If you like, you can crop the photo you've chosen to fit the Profile image space. Simply tap the icon on the bottom left-hand side of the image to reduce or enlarge the square size to fit. Likewise, you can use the gridlines to centre your photo.

  1. Similarly, if you would like to add or change your cover photo, click the icon on the bottom-right above the Profile image button.

  1. Tap Done to save the image, then Update to show it on the Timeline.

STEP 5: Change the Timeline's privacy settings

At Memories, privacy is our priority. Rest assured that you are in full control of the privacy settings for the online memorial you're creating.

You can make the Timeline private, so that only you or people you invite can see it. You can also control whether people can comment on the Timeline or not.

To update the privacy settings, go to the Timeline and click the Edit button at the top of the screen.

Scroll to the Privacy settings section, then move the switches to turn on or off each of the privacy settings. When you're finished, scroll back to the top of the screen and tap theUpdate button.

STEP 6: Add photos, videos and life stories

Now it's time to add a Memory to the Timeline.

  1. Tap + Memory from your Timeline.

  2. On the Add a Memory screen, tap the + button to add media. Follow the prompts to upload an image or video.

  3. Add a description of the item you've added, or your memory of your loved one in that moment.

  4. Add the location where this moment took place.

  5. Enter the date on which the photo or video was taken. If you don’t recall the exact date, just put in the month, or even just the year.

  6. Save the Memory by clicking the + Add Memory button.

STEP 7: Invite others to contribute to the Timeline

Once you have added some Memories of your loved one, you can invite others to visit or contribute to the Timeline. You can do this in 2 ways:

1. Share the Timeline through social media using the share button: the arrow at the top of the Timeline screen. With this method, visitors will be able to see the Timeline, but not add comments or Memories to it.

2. Invite others using the Share link, or by inviting them through Memories if they are already members. When you invite people from here, they can contribute comments and Memories to the Timeline. Here's how to do it.

Tap + Invite Member. You'll see two options.

  1. Invite a contributor to add memories. Tap the Share link button to see a unique link you can copy and paste into an email or direct message.

  2. Search for existing Memories users by typing people's names into the search box.

When sharing the link, you can tap Email link to open your default email tool. You'll see a pre-populated message that invites the recipient to click on the link and contribute to the Timeline that you have created. 

It is recommended that you personalise the message before sending it.

Alternatively, you can copy and paste the link into a direct message, SMS or email. 

When your contact receives that link and taps on it, they will see the screen below. Once they register a free account or sign into Memories, they will be able to see the Timeline you've created. We require everyone to sign in for security reasons, and to avoid spam and inappropriate content.

STEP 8: Add a virtual tribute to the page

Memories offers an online gift store where you can order items such as memorial gifts.

Family, relatives, friends and acquaintances all have the option to send a gift to grieving family members, whether or not they can comment and add Memories to the Timeline.

You, too, can leave a Virtual Gift on your loved ones Timeline.

  1. From the Timeline, tap the blue button with the three dots at the top-right of the screen.

  1. Browse our online store for both virtual and physical gifts.

  2. Once you've made your choice, proceed to the checkout. When you make the purchase, be sure to select the Timeline you want to post the virtual gift to. The gift will then be delivered, but it will also be featured on that Timeline for 14 days.

Watch the video here.

STEP 9: Change user permissions

You can change an invited person's ability to use the Timeline whenever you like. At the top-right of the Timeline screen, tap the blue button that shows three dots.

Again tap the three dots next to the name of the person whose access you want to change.

There are 2 levels of access:

  • Admin This access level gives the person full access to edit Memories, photos, and profile descriptions and invite others to the Timeline.

  • Contributor This level lets the person view, and add Memories and comments to the Timeline.

Tap Remove to make sure the person can no longer see or access the Timeline.